Art : A Recent Piece

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a recent painting I did for our spare bedroom.  I wanted to have something to keep track of our travels…I always keep some sort of travel diary, but I thought it would be nice to have something visual.  I’d seen the scratch off maps on Etsy but fancied something more colourful…because why not!

To get the map right I googled ‘map of the world’ and copied a basic image and printed it out.  I drew over the print out in pencil back to front on some baking paper (no tracing paper…had to improvise…and I don’t bake all that much…) at a window.  After that it was just a case of putting the tracing paper on some watercolour paper and scribbling all over the other side. Like school again!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once I’d drawn over the pencil with a waterproof pen (Pigma Micron 02) I added some watercolour.  It was still looking a bit boring – we haven’t travelled to enough places obviously…must try harder – so I added a ‘Here be dragons’ dragon and compass using some grey pen.  Wish I’d checked the compass was straight before committing!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pretty pleased with how it came out though : )

Leave a Reply

